Tournament Promoted by Sports PR/Marketing Firm

Venerable Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament Promoted by Sports PR/Marketing Firm Brener Zwikel & Associates

The largest amateur tennis tournament in the United States has enlisted the services of top sports public relations and marketing firm Brener Zwikel & Associates to help promote this year’s 112th edition of The Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament, April 25-29. The Ojai, a Southern California tennis tradition since 1896, is the oldest amateur tournament played at the same location in the United States.

“We are very pleased to have the assistance and public relations expertise of Brener Zwikel & Associates working with The Ojai and our 112th-annual event this April,” said Ojai Valley Tennis Club President Vivian Perrett. “We look forward to working with BZA to gain heightened awareness about The Ojai throughout the tennis world via print, electronic and social interactive media, and promotions. With 27 different events and more than 1,500 players, we have a great deal of tennis to offer at more than 30 sites throughout Ventura County, including private Ojai courts.

“This year we are featuring the new Pac-12 men’s team format as part of the 2012 Pac-12 Championships. Some people call us the ‘Wimbledon of the West’ because of our unique traditions, great tennis, and beautiful setting. We know that tennis fans will enjoy the longest-standing amateur tournament in the world, now including a competitive Open division with prize money.”

What’s new at The Ojai in 2012:

The Pac-12 Championships will play a team format this year, moving from the traditional 32-player individual draw. All matches will take place in downtown Ojai at the Libbey Park courts.

Prize money totaling an all-time high of $20,000 will be awarded in the men’s and women’s Open divisions in singles and doubles this year. Once an amateur-only tournament, The Ojai began offering prize money in the Open division in 2003 through the generous gift of Michael Taggart.

The Ojai is now on Facebook and Twitter. Follow all 27 divisions, including the Pac-12 Championships, collegiate divisions, Open, California Interscholastic Federation (high school) and junior action on Twitter @TheOjai. Like us on Facebook at: