Cal’s Fabikova to Face UCLA’s Harrison in Pac-12 Women’s Final

OJAI, Calif. – STANFORD sent two duos to the doubles championship final, while CALIFORNIA’s Klara Fabikova and UCLA’s Catherine Harrison will compete in the singles championship final at the 2015 Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Championships. Both matches will take place Sunday, Apr. 25 at Libbey Park in Ojai, Calif., with the singles final at approximately 10 a.m. PT and the doubles at approximately 1 p.m. PT.

The top-seeded team of Taylor Davidson and Carol Zhao advanced as their opponent withdrew due to injury. Davidson and Zhao will face No. 4 Caroline Doyle and Ellen Tsay in a Cardinal-filled championship final, after Doyle and Tsay defeated Fabikova and Zsofi Susanyi of California, 8-4.

In singles action, Fabikova held off the top-seeded Giuliana Olmos of USC, winning in straight sets, 6-1, 6-2. Fabikova will face off against Harrison, who advanced after her opponent, USC’s Zoë Scandalis, withdrew due to injury.

In the invitational bracket, WASHINGTON’s doubles duo of Capucine Gregoire and Riko Shimizu advanced to the final after defeating Alexandra Aiello and Nuria Ormeno Ruiz of COLORADO. The Huskies will play fourth-seeded Gabriella DeSimone and Zoë Katz of USC tomorrow after the Trojans upset No. 2-seed Jena Cheng and Sarah Richter of UTAH. The singles invitational final will feature Meredith Xepoleas of USC and Terri Fleming of UCLA.

Women’s Singles Championships
No. 4 Klara Fabikova (CAL) def. No. 1 Giuliana Olmos (USC), 6-1, 6-2

Catherine Harrison (UCLA) vs. Zoë Scandalis (USC), Harrison adv. (Scandalis withdrew due to inj.)

Women’s Singles Invitational
No. 2 Meredith Xepoleas (USC) def. No. 7 Joanna Smith (ASU), 6-2, 6-2
Terri Fleming (UCLA) def. No. 5 Kaitlin Ray (UCLA), 0-6, 6-3, 6-4

Women’s Doubles Championships
No. 1 Taylor Davidson/Carol Zhao (STAN) vs. No. 3 Maegan Manasse/Denise Starr (CAL), STAN adv. (CAL withdrew due to inj.)

No. 4 Caroline Doyle/Ellen Tsay (STAN) def. No. 2 Klara Fabikova/Zsofi Susanyi (CAL), 8-4

Women’s Doubles Invitational
Capucine Gregoire/Riko Shimizu (WASH) def. Alexandra Aiello/Nuria Ormeno Ruiz (COLO), 8-1
No. 4 Gabriella DeSimone/Zoë Katz (USC) def. No. 2 Jena Cheng/Sarah Richter (UTAH), 8-1