Pac-12 Brackets Set at The Ojai



SAN FRANCISCO – The Pac-12 Conference announced the brackets for the 2019 Pac-12 Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championships. The chase for the conference crown starts this Wednesday, April 24 in Ojai, Calif., with a men’s play-in match and three women’s first-round matches. For the second-straight season, regular-season champions and league-unbeatens UCLA men and Stanford women will be the top seeds. 

No. 14 nationally ranked UCLA men’s tennis (16-4, 8-0) clinched the No. 1 seed and posted an undefeated Conference record for the fourth-consecutive season. This is the Bruins’ sixth time earning the No. 1 seed in the tournament’s eight-year history. The reigning Pac-12 Champions have won the Pac-12 team tournament four times. No. 10 nationally ranked USC (17-7, 7-1) claims the second seed for the second-straight year. The Trojans have reached the championship match in all but one year (2016) in the history of the men’s team tournament. Stanford (16-5, 5-3) takes the third seed while being nationally ranked No. 12, while No. 35 ranked California (12-11, 4-4) rounds out the top four of the men’s bracket.

The women’s tennis bracket is led by defending NCAA Champions and No. 4 nationally ranked Stanford (19-1, 10-0). Since the women started a team bracket at the Pac-12 Championships in 2016, the Cardinal have been named the No. 1 seed all three years and have been crowned the Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Champions the last two years. This also marks the third-straight year Stanford has gone undefeated in Conference play. UCLA (16-6, 8-2) earns the No. 2 seed and are ranked No. 10 in the ITA rankings. The Bruins were also the No. 2 seed last year and reached the championship match. Washington (18-3, 8-2), ranked No. 13 nationally, takes the No. 3 seed after setting a program record for most conference wins. USC (17-6, 7-3), No. 15 nationally, and California (12-7, 6-4), ranked No. 14 nationally, take the No. 3 and 4 seeds, respectively. The top four seeds receive a first-round bye.

Team seeding is based on won-lost percentages during regular-season Conference play with the tiebreaker being the head-to-head matchup winner. Both the women and men will compete in a tournament team format to determine the Pac-12 Champion and the automatic qualifier for the NCAA Championships.

UCLA Head Coach Billy Martin accepts the Thacher Cup from Alan Rains

Live TV coverage of the event begins Thursday, April 24 with the men’s quarterfinals starting at 9 a.m. PT on Pac-12 Bay Area. Pac-12 Network and Pac-12 Bay Area will televise the men’s semifinals on Friday, April 26 beginning at 1 p.m. PT. The men’s finals will air live on Pac-12 Network and Pac-12 Bay Area beginning at 3 p.m. on Saturday, April 27, and the women’s finals will be broadcast live on Saturday as well on Pac-12 Bay Area beginning at 12 p.m. PT. All televised matches will also be available to stream on the Pac-12 Now app. Scores and updates can be found at