Title Matches Set for Pac-12 Women’s Championships

Courtesy of the Pac-12

OJAI, Calif. – Five different Pac-12 schools will have competitors in the championship and invitational title matches for the Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Championship crown on Sunday. STANFORD, USC, ARIZONA STATE, UCLA and CALIFORNIA all have players advancing to the final round of competition, where a championship and invitational crown will be handed out after the four matches tomorrow.

The day began with doubles semifinals at Libbey Park in Ojai. Top-ranked Kristie Ahn and Carol Zhao of Stanford held off Lynn Chi and Anett Schutting of California, 8-3, to earn their spot in the championship match along with Kaitlyn Christian and Giuliana Olmos of USC who defeated UCLA’s Courtney Dolehide and Chanelle Van Nguyen. In invitational play, the huge upset of the day belonged to Kassidy Jump and Joanna Smith, an unranked duo from Arizona State, who knocked off their second ranked opponent of the tournament in No. 4 Caroline Doyle and Amelia Herring from Stanford to secure a position in the title match. They will be facing No. 3 Brynn Boren and Zoë Scandalis of USC, who defeated second-ranked Luisa Gerstner Da Rosa and Sarah Richter of UTAH.

Three of the four singles matches in the afternoon were straight-set victories, with the lone exception being the invitational semifinal match between fellow Bears Klara Fabikova and Maegan Manasse. Fabikova dropped the first match, 4-6, before coming back to win the next two matches, 6-4, 6-4. Fabikova will join Giuliana Olmos of USC in the invitational championship match as Olmos held off top-ranked Caroline Doyle, 6-2, 6-3. The singles championship title match will feature No. 1 Jennifer Brady of UCLA, who defeated fifth-ranked Lynn Chi of California, 6-4, 7-5, to advance.

Sunday’s action will begin with the singles invitational championship match at 8 a.m. PT, followed by the singles championship at 10 a.m. PT. The doubles invitational championship will take place at 11 a.m. PT, with the doubles championship at 1 p.m. PT. All matches will be at Libbey Park in Ojai, Calif., with the singles championship being televised live on Pac-12 Networks. Live results will be available at pac-12.com.

Women’s Doubles Championship Results
No. 1 Kristie Ahn/Carol Zhao (STAN) def. No. 4 Lynn Chi/Anett Schutting (CAL) 8-3
Kaitlyn Christian/Giuliana Olmos (USC) def. Courtney Dolehide/Chanelle Van Nguyen (UCLA) 8-2

Women’s Doubles Invitational Results
Kassidy Jump/Joanna Smith (ASU) def. No. 4 Caroline Doyle/Amelia Herring (STAN) 8-4
No. 3 Brynn Boren/Zoë Scandalis (USC) def. No. 2 Luisa Gerstner Da Rosa/Sarah Richter (UTAH) 8-3

Women’s Singles Championship Results
No. 1 Jennifer Brady (UCLA) def. No. 5 Lynn Chi (CAL) 6-4, 7-5
No. 6 Zoë Scandalis (USC) def. No. 3 Anett Schutting (CAL) 6-3, 6-3

Women’s Singles Invitational Results
No. 3 Giuliana Olmos (USC) def. No. 1 Caroline Doyle (STAN) 6-2, 6-3
No. 5 Klara Fabikova (CAL) def. No. 2 Maegan Manasse (CAL) 4-6, 6-4, 6-4